2009-03-07 14:56:31 UTC
Cardiff, Wales (1996 – 2005) Mclusky were a three-piece group from Cardiff, Wales, who combined the energy and ethos of punk with varied dynamics and intelligent, black-humoured lyrics. The group consisted of Andy Falkous (vocals, guitar, aka Falco); Jonathan Chapple (bass, vocals) and Matthew Harding (drums). According to the band, they formed in 1996 when Andy and Matthew met at the Blackwood Miners’ Institute, a venue in their home town from which they were both ejected for dressing as miners. They subsequently met Jon at Reading Festival when they caught him urinating on their tent late at night. Originally called Best, after early Beatles drummer Pete Best, the band signed to London label Seriously Groovy and released their debut record, the 3-track single Huwuno. The changed their name to mclusky in 1999 (adopting a strictly lower-case approach to the band name, album and song titles), and the following year released their first album my pain and sadness is more sad and painful than yours on the Fuzzbox label. They then signed to Too Pure records and in 2002 released their second album, mclusky do dallas, which drew critical acclaim and international attention. In 2003, drummer Matthew Harding left and was replaced by Jack Egglestone, and in 2004 they released their third album the difference between me and you is that i’m not on fire to generally positive reviews. Their second and third albums were recorded by Steve Albini, whose influence through his legendary work with bands such as Pixies, Nirvana and The Jesus Lizard, along with his own bands Big Black and Shellac, can be easily recognised in mclusky’s dense, raw sound. mclusky-mclusky-do-dallas Artist - Mclusky Album - Mclusky Do Dallas Release Date - 2002 Genre - Alternative, Noise-punk Tracklist 01 Lightsabre Cocksucking Blues 1:51 02 No New Wave No Fun 2:19 03 Collagen Rock 2:52 04 What We've learned 1:54 05 Day of the Deadringers 3:01 06 Dethink to Survive 1:58 07 Fuck This Band 3:38 08 To Hell With Good Intentions 2:25 09 Clique Application Form 1:53 10 The World Loves Us and Is Our Bitch 2:23 11 Alan Is a Cowboy Killer 4:09 12 Gareth Brown Says 1:50 13 Chases 1:47 14 Whoyouknow 3:53 - Whoyouknow 2:05 - [silence] 0:41 - Reviewing the Reviewers 1:07 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Mclusky - Mclusky Do Dallas Password - ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- mclusky-the-difference-between-me-and-you-is-that-im-not-on-fire Artist - Mclusky Album - The Difference Between Me and You Is That I'm Not on Fire Release Date - 2004 Genre - Alternative, Noise-punk Tracklist 01 Without MSG I am Nothing 2:57 02 That Man Will Not Hang 3:00 03 She Will Only Bring You Happiness 3:27 04 KKKitchens, What Were You Thinking? 1:50 05 Your Children are Waiting for You to Die 3:54 06 Icarus Smicarus 1:51 07 Slay! 2:54 08 You Should Be Ashamed, Seamus 4:40 09 Lucky Jim 2:02 10 Forget About Him I'm Mint 1:46 11 1956 and All That 2:24 12 Falco vs. the Young Canoeist 2:12 13 Support Systems 7:49 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Mclusky - The Difference Between Me and You Is That I'm Not on Fire Password - ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- mclusky-mcluskyism Artist - Mclusky Album - Mcluskyism Release Date - 2006 Genre - Alternative, Noise-punk Tracklist 01 Joy 1:11 02 Rice Is Nice 1:05 03 Whoyouknow 2:03 04 Lighsabre Cocksucking Blues 1:50 05 To Hell With Good Intentions 2:24 06 Alan Is a Cowboy Killer 4:08 07 There Ain't No Fool in Ferguson 2:44 08 1956 and All That 2:18 09 Undress for Success 2:42 10 That Man Will Not Hang 2:59 11 She Will Only Bring You Happiness 3:26 12 Without MSG I Am Nothing 2:57 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Mclusky - Mcluskyism Password - ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Recommendations: Charlottefield Deftones - White Pony Coaltar Of The Deepers Eustacia - Demo Exotic Animal Petting Zoo - I have Made My Bed In Darkness -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended for musicians:

      Freemake Audio Converter

Review for the new EP "I Wanna Be Exploited" by Tommy Red

A combination of retro aesthetics, enduring lyrics and alt-rock grit. The best music happens when artists refuse to remain stuck in their own comfort zones and creative boxes. Whenever this happens, they are free to give full range to their vision, and they can really come up with something that’s groundbreaking and personable. This is certainly the case here with Tommy Red and his brand new EP release, “I Wanna Be Exploited.”


Dream within a Dream by Marva Von Theo

Marva Von Theo is an Electropop / Synthwave duo formed in 2016 by the Athens-based singer-songwriter Marva Voulgari and the Vienna-based composer-producer Theo Foinidis. Their Debut Album “Dream within a Dream” was released early in 2018. The 12 songs on their Album, lean towards an electronic sound that incorporates a variety of influences ranging from the music of the 80’s until today. Darkwave sounds, Jazz harmonies, Rock and Dance drum beats resonate together and mature into something darkly romantic.



© 2016 - The Sirens Sound