* * * * * The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation * * * * *

2010-03-10 11:48:17 UTC
The Netherlands [ 2000 – present ] The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation is the experimental Ambient/Noise/Drone/Jazz alter ego of The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble, the self-acclaimed “mutant jazz” band formed in 2000 by Jason Kohnen (aka Bong-Ra) and Gideon Kiers, and which later evolved into a six-member piece. Starting with free-form soundtracks to silent films such as Murnau’s “Nosferatu” and Lang’s “Metropolis”, the band gave birth in 2006 to its first eponymous album, released on Planet Mu. The downbeat ambient jazz of their first CD was however only one avatar of this coterie, as demonstrated by the birth of The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation. The semi-improvised, dark, heavy, “sludgy” counterpart to the “ensemble”, the Corporation leaves all borders behind, focusing this time on mesmerizing, doom-ridden drones and melodies, combined with the jazzy grooves and melodies of the cello and saxophones. Recorded live in Amsterdam in February 2007, “Doomjazz Future Corpses!” is a self-described “soundscape of barren wastelands, droning into memories of future’s past”. If the “ensemble”’s debut was paying homage to The Quay Brothers, this album awakens the third, twisted, twin. A snapshot of the band’s free-form sessions, in which there is no solid structure or time frame but a focus on cataclysmic improvisation and feeling, this album stands as a captivating dirge of raw guitar drones, saxophone and trombones emancipated from their classic jazz boundaries and abysmal bass throbs. An highly disorientating yet convincing journey through the deep realms of murky drone jazz / metal, heavy, suffocating and unfettered. [ Last.fm ] Artist - The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation Album - Doomjazz Future Corpse Release Date - 2007 Genre - Ambient, Drone, Dark-ambient, Drone-ambient, Instrumental, Experimental, Post-jazz Tracklist 1 One 6:03 2 Two 6:24 3 Three 5:23 4 Four 4:06 5 Five 9:19 6 Six 7:22 7 Seven 10:27 8 Eight 7:51 9 Nine 12:11 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation - Doomjazz Future Corpse -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation Album - Succubus [ * * * * * ] Release Date - 2009 Genre - Ambient, Drone, Dark-ambient, Drone-ambient, Instrumental, Experimental, Post-jazz Tracklist 01 The Sexy Midnight Torture Show 4:29 02 Erotic Love Queen 6:35 03 Strange Dreams 4:31 04 Castles by the Sea 1:33 05 The Admirals Game 7:14 06 The Morning After 6:59 07 Perverted Pleasure Party 5:41 08 A Bad Trip 5:50 09 A Place for Fantasies 8:44 10 Murder Amongst Mannequins 1:58 11 Fleeing the Scene 5:19 12 Deadly Rehearsals 8:19 13 Faustine 8:30 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation - Succubus -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Recommendations: 2009 Top 50 | The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble | Bohren & Der Club Of Gore | Losalios | aboombong -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended for musicians:

      Freemake Audio Converter

Review for 52 by Orellana

Orellana is a neo-classical/post-rock collective hailing from Bristol, UK. Their new album “52”, released in late December, brought in the new year with it’s explosive and intricate sound. The project’s music transcends genre definitions in order to focus on a broad, diverse concept that is more emotional than tangible. This particular release is full of rich and diverse arrangements, but it is also a powerful exercise in minimalism, one that showcases the strength of very few notes placed in the right spots. The simplicity of the arrangement is actually one of the strongest aspects of this entire release: there’s a palpable stillness created by the long, drone notes in the background, which almost makes you feel like the world is happening in slow motion. When the chords and notes change, it feels quite monumental due to the beautiful contrast between the stillness of the background textures and the expressive sound of the guitar-based melodies.


Review for Deux by Davenport Rex

Davenport Rex is a music project based in Detroit, Michigan. Their sound is diverse and challenging, yet accessible and appealing. The band’s music stands out as a combination of tasteful progressive rock, with shades of various influences, ranging from alternative to symphonic hard rock, just to mention a few.



© 2016 - The Sirens Sound