2010-05-31 09:35:43 UTC
[ 1996 – present... ] The core members of Shpongle are Simon Posford and Raja Ram from United Kingdom, along with many collaborators and guest musicians. Ott is also credited on all albums. Their Shpongle sound is a mix of mainly eastern ethnic samples and western contemporary psychedelic synth music. Posford is responsible for the synth and studio work while Raja Ram contributes with flute arrangements. They are both responsible for the visionary input. According to one interview, they commonly visualize the music together before and during the creation process. Shpongle’s first tune, Vapour Rumours, was released on TIP Records’ Infinite Excursions compilation in 1996. Their debut album, Are You Shpongled?, was released 1998 on Twisted Records. The high sound quality, successful mix of samples, instruments and synths along with the story and progress of the music through the album made it one of the most cutting edge releases of that time. Are You Shpongled? and Twisted Records’ first downtempo compilation, Eclipse, made a huge impact on the psychedelic trance scene in 1998. Simon Posford is also known for his solo productions as Hallucinogen and as driving force of the label Twisted Records UK. He is also part of Dub Trees (with Youth and Dubsahara), Celtic Cross (with Youth) and Younger Brother (with Prometheus). Raja Ram is also a member of 1200 Micrograms (with GMS) and The Infinity Project (with Graham Wood, Anjee Sian and other contributors/collaborators). He was also founder of the indo-prog/raga rock group of the ’60s/’70s Quintessence. ~~~~~~~~~ ( Good start will be " Ineffable Mysteries From Shpongleland " but all titles here are outstanding on a PSYBIENT / IDM-CORE note. [ MySpace ] | [ ] ). ~~~~~~~~~~ Artist - Shpongle Album - The God Particle [ * * * * * ] Release Date - 2011 Genre - Ambient, Electro, Psychedelic-ambient, Psybient, Trancebient, Lo-end Industrial, IDM [ VERY GOOD ] Tracklist 01 - Shpongle - Before The Big Bang 02 - Shpongle - The God Particle -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Shpongle - The God Particle -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Shpongle Album - Are You Shpongled? Release Date - Genre - Ambient, Electro, Psychedelic-ambient, Psybient, Lo-end Industrial, IDM [ VERY GOOD ] Tracklist 1 Shpongle Falls 8:33 2 Monster Hit 8:57 3 Vapour Rumours 10:26 4 Shpongle Spores 7:16 5 Behind Closed Eyelids 12:29 6 Divine Moments of Truth 10:20 7 ...And the Day Turned to Night 19:57 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Shpongle - Are You Shpongled? -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Shpongle Album - Tales of the Inexpressible Release Date - 2001 Genre - Ambient, Electro, Psychedelic-ambient, Psybient, Lo-end Industrial, IDM [ VERY GOOD ] Tracklist 1 Dorset Perception 8:12 2 Star Shpongled Banner 8:23 3 A New Way to Say 'Hooray!' 8:32 4 Room 2ॐ 5:05 5 My Head Feels Like a Frisbee 8:52 6 Shpongleyes 8:56 7 Once Upon the Sea of Blissful Awareness 7:30 8 Around the World in a Tea Daze 11:21 9 Flute Fruit 2:08 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Shpongle - Tales of the Inexpressible -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Shpongle Album - Nothing Lasts... But Nothing Is Lost Release Date - 2005 Genre - Ambient, Electro, Psychedelic-ambient, Psybient, Lo-end Industrial, IDM [ VERY GOOD ] Tracklist 01 Botanical Dimensions 4:38 02 Outer Shpongolia 2:32 03 Levitation Nation 3:40 04 Periscopes of Consciousness 1:53 05 Schmaltz Herring 2:20 06 Nothing Lasts 4:28 07 Schnitzl'd in the Negev 4:17 08 ...But Nothing Is Lost 4:38 09 When Shall I Be Free? 4:37 10 The Stamen of the Shaman 4:10 11 Circuits of the Imagination 3:12 12 Linguistic Mystic 1:36 13 Mentalism 2:54 14 Invocation 2:39 15 Molecular Superstructure 4:47 16 Turn Up the Silence 3:22 17 Exhalation 2:15 18 Connoisseur of Hallucination 3:31 19 The Nebbish Route 3:35 20 Falling Awake 1:50 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Shpongle - Nothing Lasts... But Nothing Is Lost -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Shpongle Album - Ineffable Mysteries From Shpongleland Release Date - 2009 Genre - Ambient, Electro, Psychedelic-ambient, Psybient, Lo-end Industrial, IDM [ VERY GOOD ] Tracklist 1 Electroplasm 10:12 2 Shpongolese Spoken Here 6:38 3 Nothing Is Something Worth Doing 6:24 4 Ineffable Mysteries 10:26 5 I Am You 11:36 6 Invisible Man in a Fluoroscent Suit 8:54 7 No Turn Un-Stoned 8:02 8 Walking Backwards Through the Cosmic Mirror 8:13 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Shpongle - Ineffable Mysteries From Shpongleland -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Recommendations: Rhian Shehan ~ Arms and Sleepers ~ Encre - Flux ~ The Aloof ~ Heroin And Your Veins --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended for musicians:

      Freemake Audio Converter

Review of "Burial Songs" by Palehorse/Palerider

In order to excel in the independent music industry, an act has to define itself as especially unique with a sound quite unlike anything else in the community. This is a tall order, one that isn’t easily filled by acts entering variations of rock music due to the immense amount of bands flooding the scene right now. Palehorse/Palerider, a “doomgaze” trio from Denver, has released an EP entitled ‘Burial Songs’ that does a surprisingly superb job at separating itself from the pack. Let’s delve into it.


Review for "I Want to Stand Where the Sun Himself Shakes with Fear" by Voices from Deep Below

Even though the independent rock scene is quite inundated with new acts, there’s always a welcome place for an outfit that changes the formula enough to be consistently interesting and worth taking notice of. The New York-based alternative rock group Voices from Deep Below attempts to do just that, fusing together a variety of styles into a surprisingly coherent sound. Their new record, “I Want to Stand Where the Sun Himself Shakes with Fear”, is a five song album that navigates alt-rock, experimental, and borderline metal and progressive influences all at the same time.



© 2016 - The Sirens Sound