* * * * * Sinewave Essentials - The Best Of 2010 * * * * *

2010-12-18 13:50:45 UTC
Sinewave, a net label focused on [ post-rock, shoegaze and post-metal ] albums, announces the release of a compilation with the best albums released by the label in 2010. The compilation, entitled [ Sinewave Essentials - The Best of 2010 ] contains twelve tracks by bands from Brazil and two bonus track, that range from shoegaze and post-rock to other styles like electro-shoegaze or dark ambient. "These fourteen tracks summarize our label focus", says Elson, label founder. "We look for releasing bands that are experimental, 'weird' or noisy for the common audience, but also have potential to reach different audiences". The bands included in the compilation come from different parts of Brazil. From São Paulo we have Hangin Freud, Elma, Herod Layne and Duelectrum. From Curitiba, This Lonely Crowd and Black Sea. From Recife, Team.Radio. From Maceió, Neon Night Riders. From Porto Alegre, Farveste, Uppsala Solemne and Loomer. From Sorocaba, the late Wry. And from Rio de Janeiro, Sobre A Máquina. "These are bands that are ready to play at any clubs or festivals throughout the country, and with this compilation we want to show them to the general media and the gig producers ", says Luiz Freitas, label co-founder. The compilation and the albums from these bands are available for free download at the Sinewave web site. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- About the label. [ SINEWAVE ] is a net label focused on Brazilian post-rock, shoegaze and experimental music. With more than 80 albums by 50 different artists, the label accounts for more than 40 thousand downloads, 4GB of available material and more than 2TB transfer of music since its creation, in 2008. The label also produces podcasts, mixtapes and interviews with local bands and others. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- About the bands – HANGIN FREUD: Indie, experimental. Influences: Throwing Muses, Sonic Youth, PJ Harvey. – THIS LONELY CROWD: Indie, shoegaze. Influences: Smashing Pumpkins, Slowdive, Secret Machines. – ELMA: Metal, noise, electronic, experimental. Influences: Melvins, Shellac, Helmet. – TEAM.RADIO: Shoegaze. Influences: My Bloody Valentine, Mogwai, Felt. – FARVESTE: Post-rock. Influences: Explosions In The Sky, Mogwai, Mono. – UPPSALA SOLEMNE: Ambient, acoustic. Influences: A Silver Mt. Zion, Sigur Rós, Ólafur Arnalds. – WRY: Shoegaze. Influences: My Bloody Valentine, Ride, Slowdive. – HEROD LAYNE: Post-rock. Influences: Mogwai, Mono, Sonic Youth. – LOOMER: Indie rock, shoegaze. Influences: My Bloody Valentine, Dinosaur Jr, Swervedriver. – SOBRE A MÁQUINA: Post-industrial, dark ambient. Influences: Jesu, Swans, Neurosis. – NEON NIGHT RIDERS: Electro, shoegaze. Influences: M83, Jesus & Mary Chain, 65daysofstatic. – BLACK SEA: Post-metal. Influences: Neurosis, Isis, Cult of Luna. – DUELECTRUM: Shoegaze. Influences: My Bloody Valentine, Ride, Slowdive. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Sinewave Essentials Album - The Best Of 2010 Release Date - 2010 Genre - Post-rock, Shoegaze, Experimental Tracklist 01. hangin freud - truce 02. this lonely crowd - crash course 03. elma - hugo frasa vs elma 04. team.radio - jolenne 05. farveste - gandhi 06. uppsala solemne - verso mudo 07. wry - deep field nostalgia 08. herod layne - the unsung hero 09. loomer - all gone 10. sobre a máquina - rotina 11. neon night riders - see the sky 12. black sea - don't stay for too long 13. herod layne - xmass 2010 14. duelectrum - chocolate love -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Direct Download Sinewave Essentials - The Best Of 2010 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended for musicians:

      Freemake Audio Converter

Review for 52 by Orellana

Orellana is a neo-classical/post-rock collective hailing from Bristol, UK. Their new album “52”, released in late December, brought in the new year with it’s explosive and intricate sound. The project’s music transcends genre definitions in order to focus on a broad, diverse concept that is more emotional than tangible. This particular release is full of rich and diverse arrangements, but it is also a powerful exercise in minimalism, one that showcases the strength of very few notes placed in the right spots. The simplicity of the arrangement is actually one of the strongest aspects of this entire release: there’s a palpable stillness created by the long, drone notes in the background, which almost makes you feel like the world is happening in slow motion. When the chords and notes change, it feels quite monumental due to the beautiful contrast between the stillness of the background textures and the expressive sound of the guitar-based melodies.


Review for Deux by Davenport Rex

Davenport Rex is a music project based in Detroit, Michigan. Their sound is diverse and challenging, yet accessible and appealing. The band’s music stands out as a combination of tasteful progressive rock, with shades of various influences, ranging from alternative to symphonic hard rock, just to mention a few.



© 2016 - The Sirens Sound