* * * * * Mainland Divide * * * * *

2012-06-19 11:30:37 UTC

Mainland Divide formed in late 2008 and released the “Product of Man” EP in 2009 with Rick Holthoff on vocals, Jesse Kelly and Chris Doan on guitar, Aaron Wolfe on bass and Corey Canady on drums. After releasing the EP, the band parted ways with Corey and took time to experiment with writing.

Rick moved from vocals to guitar and Jesse moved from guitar to drums. This gave the band the flexibility to showcase the wide range of styles that they want to incorporate in their music.

Mainland Divide has an experimental, diverse sound with influences ranging from post-hardcore to jazz to shoegaze. They have just released their new self-titled album independently on cassette and CD. Keep track of them on Facebook and bandcamp.com

Band Members Are

Chris [ guitar ] Jesse [ drums ] Rick [ guitar ] And Aaron [ bass ].

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- There is no two way about this band, no think twice or think again... just go right ahead and dive in as you are indeed in for a super treat. The only time I'll say think again is if you considering skipping this entry then I'll say think again my friend. You don't want to miss it and when you do get them be sure you volume is set EXTREMELY HIGH.

< < < < < [ [ BandCamp ] | [ Last.Fm ] | [ FaceBook ] | [ iTunes ] ]. > > > > > --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Artist - Mainland Divide Album - Mainland Divide Release Date - 2012 Genre - Instrumental, Post-rock [ EXCELLENT SOUND ] Tracklist 1. Centuries 03:38 2. Moving Forward 02:37 3. Refined Isolation 03:44 4. Distance In Transit 04:47 5. Red Giants/Heavyweight 07:25 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Mainland Divide - Mainland Divide -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Mainland Divide Album - Mainland Divide (B-SIDES) Release Date - 2012 Genre - Instrumental, Post-rock, Math-rock [ EXCELLENT SOUND ] Tracklist 1. Harvestmen 03:44 2. Session1 01:06 3. Session2 03:54 4. Dungeons 06:18 5. Hard Times (featuring Shawn Hood) 01:30 6. Session3 04:40 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Mainland Divide - Mainland Divide (B-SIDES) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Mainland Divide Album - Freethinker EP Release Date - 2011 Genre - Instrumental, Post-rock, Math-rock [ EXCELLENT SOUND ] Tracklist 1. Freethinker 04:07 2. Heavyweight 03:37 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Mainland Divide - Freethinker EP -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Recommendations: Hammock ~ Worrytrain ~ Northvia ~ Labradford ~ Bark Psychosis -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended for musicians:

      Freemake Audio Converter

New album Land of Evergone by Ali Murray

Ali Murray is an ethereal folk songwriter/musician from the cold isle of Lewis in the north of Scotland. He writes dark atmospheric folk music with lush sweeping dreamy soundscapes and Celtic-twinged instrumentation. His new album LAND OF EVERGONE strikes a balance that is intimate and soaring, peaceful and haunting, sad and quietly joyful, delicately reverberating with Murray's dreamy voice and guitar playing.


Review for 52 by Orellana

Orellana is a neo-classical/post-rock collective hailing from Bristol, UK. Their new album “52”, released in late December, brought in the new year with it’s explosive and intricate sound. The project’s music transcends genre definitions in order to focus on a broad, diverse concept that is more emotional than tangible. This particular release is full of rich and diverse arrangements, but it is also a powerful exercise in minimalism, one that showcases the strength of very few notes placed in the right spots. The simplicity of the arrangement is actually one of the strongest aspects of this entire release: there’s a palpable stillness created by the long, drone notes in the background, which almost makes you feel like the world is happening in slow motion. When the chords and notes change, it feels quite monumental due to the beautiful contrast between the stillness of the background textures and the expressive sound of the guitar-based melodies.



© 2016 - The Sirens Sound