* * * * * Okat * * * * *

2012-08-07 12:16:14 UTC

Okat is the solo project of award-winning Arizona musician Tyler Griffin. Drawing inspiration from minimalism, ambient, and drone, Okat focuses on dynamic melodies juxtaposed against drowning, tonal climaxes, breaking through genre labels to build music that is equally warm and yet somehow chilling.

Up to date [ Okat ] has released two titles [ Driftwoods ] that came out August 2011 and the most recent [ Sable ] which came out June [ 2012 ]. Both releases are exceptionally well done based on the quoted tags. Although Driftwoods is more of a mini EP type, 3 tracks with a total duration of 09minutes but you still might want to give both a thorough listen starting with the latest one [ Sable ]. TOTALLY WORTHY.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- < < < < < [ [ BANDCAMP ] | [ FACEBOOK ] ]. > > > > > --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Artist - Okat Album - Sable Release Date - 2012 Genre - Minimal, Ambient, Ambientscape, Experimental, Drone, Electro [ AWESOME ] Tracklist 1. Saudade Snare 01:34 2. Views of Distant Towns 04:21 3. World's End Terminal 05:20 4. Boring Wells 06:15 5. Twisty Little Synapses 06:50 6. Sable in AM 03:07 7. The Bodies of Sleeping Birds Littered Among the Barren Highways 06:11 8. The Subtle Mechanics of Body Duplication 03:16 9. Birdlime 03:53 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Okat - Sable -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Artist - Okat Album - Driftwoods Release Date - 2011 Genre - Minimal, Ambient, Ambientscape, Experimental, Drone, Electro [ AWESOME ] Tracklist 1. An Announcement (Icon of the Shore) 03:31 2. Luminaries (Optimist on the Shore) 01:46 3. The Warmth of an Artificial Sun (Futurist on the Shore) 04:36 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Okat - Driftwoods -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- A Journey Down The Dwell | Pastaklubben | Triosk | Sonicbrat | The Sea Shall Not Have Them -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended for musicians:

      Freemake Audio Converter

The Great Long Distance by John D. Reedy

The Great Long Distance is an audible recollection of the first 12 months of a long distance relationship, including the highs and lows and moments in between. It is a journal without words, each of the 12 tracks representing each month respectively. Inspired by the format of NIN's "Ghosts I-IV", the album is a sonic tapestry of different moods and themes, with various recurring motifs and the subtle melding of synthesizer and samples; the result something not quite classical, ambient or electronic - rather, an eclectic blend of the three. For fans of Ólafur Arnalds, Nils Frahm and later Ulver


Review of "Burial Songs" by Palehorse/Palerider

In order to excel in the independent music industry, an act has to define itself as especially unique with a sound quite unlike anything else in the community. This is a tall order, one that isn’t easily filled by acts entering variations of rock music due to the immense amount of bands flooding the scene right now. Palehorse/Palerider, a “doomgaze” trio from Denver, has released an EP entitled ‘Burial Songs’ that does a surprisingly superb job at separating itself from the pack. Let’s delve into it.


Review for "I Want to Stand Where the Sun Himself Shakes with Fear" by Voices from Deep Below

Even though the independent rock scene is quite inundated with new acts, there’s always a welcome place for an outfit that changes the formula enough to be consistently interesting and worth taking notice of. The New York-based alternative rock group Voices from Deep Below attempts to do just that, fusing together a variety of styles into a surprisingly coherent sound. Their new record, “I Want to Stand Where the Sun Himself Shakes with Fear”, is a five song album that navigates alt-rock, experimental, and borderline metal and progressive influences all at the same time.



© 2016 - The Sirens Sound